Giro d'Italia 2023 - Stats

Monday 1 May 2023 • Stats

Stef van Zon

On Saturday the 106th Giro d'Italia and 292nd GrandTour will kick-off. Who will win the Trofeo Senza Fine? Stats on the first GrandTour of 2023.

by Daniël (@StatsOnCycling)

Most stages raced by Pozzovivo

Pozzovivo got a contract at the last moment and will race his 17th Giro d'Italia representing Israel Premier-Tech. That's still1 less than Panizza. Pozzovivo participated in most Giro stages since 2000 (before 2000 the results at ProCyclingStats are not complete for all races. Panizzar raced more stages, but not all are registered). If Pozzo finishes the first stage, he will also be the rider with most stage-finishes in the past decades. Diego Ulissi is the participant with the secondmost stage-starts, but he has to finish 4 more Giros to get close to Pozzovivo's grand total of 289 stages.

Meeste starts in Giro etappes
Most starts in Giro-stages, at least since 2000

Other Giro-records by Merckx, Coppi and Luis Leon Sanchez

The GC of the Giro was won 5 times by Merckx, Binda and Coppi. Mario Cipollini wpn most stages: 42. Cavendish is the active pro with16 stage-wins. It's again Merckx who received the precious pink jersey most often: 78 times after a stage. Also Contador (36), Nibali (18) and Dumoulin (17) got to wear the pink jersey often.

Luis Leon Sanchez will start his 29th GrandTour, just Valverde, Petacchi (both 32 starts) and Matteo Tosatto (34 GTs) raced more often in the Giro, Tour and Vuelta.

Who will become Triple Club Member?

Rigoberto Uran was the most recent and 103rd rider to complete his trilogy of stage-wins in all GrandTours. With a stage-win in Giro'23, 6 riders will be able to complete their trilogy: Mads Pedersen, Simon Clarke, Magnus Cort, Bauke MollemaWarren Barguil and Sepp Kuss.

Roger De Vlaeminck was with 36 yearns and 245 days the oldest rider to complete his GrandTour trilogy. If Clarke wins his stage in the Giro, he will become the oldest and also Mollema will be among the oldest members. When Mads Pedersen does it, he will complete his trilogy in less than a year. Bennati and Zabriskie were fastest (291 days). Pedersen would become 3rd fastest given that the Giro starts 295 days after his first stage-win in the 2022 Tour de France (stage 13).

Snelste trilogie
Fastest GrandTour trilogy completions

A stage-win by a Dane would be the first Danish stage-win since 2012, also Spain is waiting relatively long for their next Giro-stage (Bilbao in 2019).

Big results without one in a GrandTour

José Joaquin Rojas is the rider with most stage top-10s without a stage-win in a GrandTour but is closely followed by Kruijswijk (44) and Kelderman (51). Also Joao Almeida (28 top-10s) and Adam Yates (31) finished often top-10 in a GrandTour stage without winning one. In the GrandTour GCs, Uran finished most often to-10s without stepping on the top of the podium: 10 top-10s. Pozzovivo did it 8 times, Landa, Bardet, Kruijswijk en Mollema are high on that list as well.

Top-10 in Grote Ronden zonder eindzege (actieve profs)
Top-10 in GCs of GrandTours without a victory

Adam Yates won his 20th and 21st race in the Tour de Romandie, but he did never win a stage in the Giro, Tour or Vuelta. 13 of those 21 victories were at World-Tour level. Just Küng (26), Mareczko (47) and Coquard (51) won more pro-races without a GT stage-win. Küng and Bonifazio (21) are the riders who can eind their stat in this Giro.

Overwinningen zonder etappezege in een Grote Ronde
Pro-wins without a stage-win in a GrandTour

May Time-Trials, sprint-opportunities and vertical meters

Compared to recent GrandTours, the Giro of 2023 has many Individual Time Trials in it (73). Moreover, there seem to be many opportunities for sprinters (7 big chances) compared to the previous 10 editions (4 bunch sprints on average). Also the numer of vertical meters in this Giro is larger than before. Only the Tour de France of 2023 and 2020 and Vuelta a Espana of 2016 had vertical meters since 2010.

Giro d'Italia had more ITT-kilometers before which were often important for the final GC-standings. Without time-trials, Hindley outperformed Hart in Giro'20, Quintana was better than Dumoulin in 2017, finished Landa better than Contador in 2015 and Rodriguez won the pink jersey instead of Hesjedal in 2012.

Some more facts on Remco Evenepoel or Primoz Roglic winning:

  • If Evenepoel being the defendin World Champion Road Race wins a Giro-stage, he will be the first since Cavendish in 2013, Evans in 2010 and Cipollini in 2003.
  • The last owner of the rainbow-jersey who won a GrandTour was Greg Lemond in the 1990 Tour de France.
  • Primoz Roglic would become the first Slovenian rider winning the Giro d'Italia

Have fun watching! Stats will follow. Ciao.

Compare riders